Town Hall is made up of a number of municipal departments and divisions that work together to manage operations and service for residents and visitor.  View our organizational chart and learn more about each department below!

Corporate Services

The Corporate Services Department oversee a range of municipal functions and services including:

  • Finance
  • Asset Management
  • Human Resources
  • Information Technology
  • Clerk and Council Services
Building & Development Services

Building Services forms a part of the Town’s Development Services Department. Building Services deals with all matters that fall under the Ontario Building Code Act and the Ontario Building Code including new constructions, demolitions, renovations, changes of use, etc. Building Services’ role is to review and approve building permit applications and related processes.

Planning is responsible for both short term and long range planning within the Town including the application processing for Official Plan and Zoning By-law amendments, Plans of Subdivision, Site Plan Control and more. 

Community Services (Parks and Recreations)

The Community Services Department oversee a range of services including:

  • Parks
  • Recreation
  • Facilities Management
  • Child Development Services, and
  • is primary liaison with the County of Lanark for the provision of social services-related programs including Ontario Works, Social Housing and Land Ambulance services.
Economic Development and Tourism

The Economic Development and Tourism Department is responsible for creating and implementing programs, policies and activities that Improve the economic well-being and quality of life for our community and oversee programs and services including:

  • Business Retention & Expansion
  • Business Attraction & Investment Development
  • Workforce and Resident Attraction and Retention
  • Placemaking & Revitalization

  • Culture and Heritage Services includes Heritage House Museum
  • Tourism Asset Development
  • Destination Marketing and Visitor Information and Service

  • Internal and external Communications

Key business entities that also fall under our team, include the Small Business Advisory Centre and the Downtown Business Association. These are independent or arms length organizations, the DBA coordinator reports to a board of directors made up of local downtown business owners, and the Small Business Centre is part of a larger initiative funded by the province that services both the Counties of Lanark and Leeds and Grenville. However their contracts are managed through our department. 

Fire Services
The Smiths Falls Department oversee to all types of emergencies, including fire alarms, structural, vehicle and chimney fires, medical assist, ice and water rescue, hazardous material incidents and motor vehicle accidents and is responsible for issuing of Fire Permits and Fire Prevention Education and Inspections.
Police Services
The Smiths Falls Police Department provides enforcement, emergency and protection services to the community.
Public Works and Utilities
The Public Works and Utilities Department is responsible for the operation and maintenance of roads, bridges, sidewalks, public water and sewer systems, storm drainage, street lighting, tree maintenance, waste and recycling, traffic signal operations and capital improvement projects.

Contact Us

Subscribe to this page