Get in Touch

We wish to provide a safe and pleasant environment for all residents in the community.

Map Marker

77 Beckwith St. N.
Smiths Falls,
ON K7A 2B8

Contact Us:

613.283.4124
info@smithsfalls.ca

Questions or concerns?

Staff will work to enforce and resolve complaints from members of the public.

Report an Issue

Private Property Complaint

If you have an urgent complaint regarding private property that is an immediate health and safety concern, please call 613.283.4124 Ext. 1128 during business hours (Monday to Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm).

Noise Complaints

For noise complaints please contact the Smiths Falls Police Service at 613.283.0357

What is 211?

211 is an easy-to-remember three-digit phone number providing free, confidential, multilingual access to information about the full range of community, social, health and government services.

Post Your Community Event

Looking to post a community event? Add your event to our Community Events Calendar.

Learn More

Departments & Staff Directory

Council

It is the role of the Mayor to preside over Council meetings, to provide leadership to the Council and to represent the municipality at official functions. Council represents the public and considers the well-being and interests of the community as a whole. They also develop and evaluate the policies and programs of the municipality and determine which services the municipality provides. Council is also mandated to ensure that administrative practices and procedures are in place to implement the decisions of Council and maintain the financial integrity of the municipality.

Contacts:

Shawn Pankow
Mayor
613-430-9037
mayor@smithsfalls.ca

Chris Cummings
Councillor
613-284-7729
ccummings@smithsfalls.ca

Jay Brennan
Councillor
613-430-9035
jbrennan@smithsfalls.ca

Dawn Quinn
Councillor
613-430-9036
dquinn@smithsfalls.ca

Lorraine Allen
Councillor
613-430-4221
lallen@smithsfalls.ca

John Maloney
Councillor
613-284-6116
jmaloney@smithsfalls.ca

Joe Gallipeau
Councillor
613-285-6829
jgallipeau@smithsfalls.ca

Public Works and Utilities

Whether it’s drinking water from your tap, road improvements, street light improvements, recycling or our wastewater system, Public Works & Utilities is all around us. The Town of Smiths Falls provides residents with infrastructure and services that we depend on every day.

The Public Works and Utilities Department is responsible for the following activities in your community:

  • Drinking Water System (Water Treatment & Water Distribution)
  • Wastewater System (Wastewater Treatment & Collection System, Sanitary and Storm Sewers)
  • Roads & Sidewalks
  • Traffic & Street Lights
  • Engineering
  • Solid Waste Management (recycling, organics, compost site, hazardous waste management, and
    waste collection)
  • Smiths Falls/Montague Municipal Airport

Contacts:

Water/Sewer/Roads After Hours Emergency
After Hours Emergency
613-284-1430

Vanessa Bernicky
Engineering Technologist
613-283-4124, ext. 1147
vbernicky@smithsfalls.ca

Sarah Cooke
Water/Wastewater Compliance Coordinator
613-283-4124, ext. 5502
scooke@smithsfalls.ca

Ted Joynt
Superintendent of Utilities
613-283-4124, ext. 5501
tjoynt@smithsfalls.ca

Kim Mulrooney
Administration Coordinator Public Works & Utilities
613-283-4124, ext. 3302
kmulrooney@smithsfalls.ca

Richard Burns
Public Works and Utilities Foreman
613-283-4124, ext. 3303
rburns@smithsfalls.ca

Jason Dalgleish
Public Works & Utilities Supervisor
613-283-4124, ext. 3301
jdalgleish@smithsfalls.ca

W. Troy Dunlop
Director of Public Works & Utilities
613-283-4124, ext. 3305
trdunlop@smithsfalls.ca

Community Services
  • County Shared Services (Ontario Works, Land Ambulance, Social Housing Services);
  • Arenas and Community Halls;
  • Municipal Parks;
  • Maintenance of Municipal Buildings (Municipal Complex, Seniors Activity Building, Community Theatre);
  • Associated programs of recreation;
  • Cemetery operations;
  • Historical services (Heritage House Museum, Municipal Heritage Committee);
  • Special events;
  • Child Care Programs;
  • Accessibility;
  • Liaising with Police and Public Library Boards.

Contacts:

Art Manhire
Director of Community Services
613-283-4124, ext. 6101
amanhire@smithsfalls.ca

Nick Pilon
Office Administration
613-283-4124, ext. 6102
sfrecreation@smithsfalls.ca

Margo Lougren
Administrative Assistant
613-283-4124, ext. 6103
mlougren@smithsfalls.ca

Judy Arthur
Childcare Supervisor
613-283-4124, ext. 6601
jarthur@smithsfalls.ca

Chris Burns
Operations Supervisor
613-283-4124, ext. 6102
cburns@smithsfalls.ca

Nicole Dwyer
Senior Planner
613-283-4124, ext. 1116
ndwyer@smithsfalls.ca

Gary Smith
Acting Planner
613-283-4124, ext. 1116
gsmith@smithsfalls.ca

Leisa Purdon Bell
Museum Clerk & Collections Manager
613-283-6311

Corporate Services

For direct contacts for various services, please refer to the specific department pages.

The following services fall under the Corporate Services division:

  • Clerk, Licensing;
  • Vital Statistics;
  • Finance (Taxes, Water Billing, Accounting);
  • Human Resources;
  • Information Technology.

The following services fall under the Planning & Sustainable Growth division:

  • Building;
  • Planning;
  • Engineering;
  • Waste Disposal and Recycling Services.

The following services fall under the Community Services division:

  • Social Services;
  • Fire & Police Services;
  • Health & Safety;
  • Arenas;
  • Parks and Recreation;
  • Facility Managment;
  • Library;
  • Heritage House,
  • Tourism;
  • Airport;
  • Cemetery.

Contacts:

Ellen Leach
Front Desk
613-283-4124, ext. 1100
eleach@smithsfalls.ca

Kerry Costello
Director of Corporate Services
613-283-4124, ext. 1102
kcostello@smithsfalls.ca

Nadine Bennett
Deputy Clerk
613-283-4124, ext. 1130
nbennett@smithsfalls.ca

Art Manhire
Director of Community Services
613-283-4124, ext. 6101
amanhire@smithsfalls.ca

Dave Crawford
IT Services Coordinator
613-283-4124, ext. 1124
dcrawford@smithsfalls.ca

Beth Cozens
Tax Collector
613-283-4124, ext. 1118
bcozens@smithsfalls.ca

Janet Koziel
Treasurer
613-283-4124, ext. 1117
jkoziel@smithsfalls.ca

Lynda McKimm
Human Resources Advisor
613-283-4124, ext. 1148
lmckimm@smithsfalls.ca

Malcom Morris
Chief Administrative Officer
613-283-4124, ext. 1104
mmorris@smithsfalls.ca

Daina Sullivan
Support Clerk
613-283-4124, ext. 1149
dsullivan@smithsfalls.ca

Vicki Thompson
Finance Clerk
613-283-4124, ext. 1101
vthompson@smithsfalls.ca

Sandra Watters
Administrative Assistant
613-283-4124, ext. 1132
swatters@smithsfalls.ca

Economic Development

This department provides business-related information about Smiths Falls and area to inform potential new businesses and assists businesspersons wishing to locate in Smiths Falls to secure land, buildings or leased space and comply with local regulations.

It can also assist persons wishing to start a business, or acquire an existing business, or who wish to move to Smiths Falls to live.

The Town is a partner in the Small Business Advisory Centre, which is a locally based office dedicated to supporting new and existing small businesses. www.smallbizcentre.ca.

For further information on Economic Development please contact Cyril Cooper via email at Ccooper@smithsfalls.ca or by phone at 613-283-4124 ext. 1107.

Contacts:

Ingrid Bron
Economic Development and Tourism Coordinator
613-283-4124, ext. 1127
ibron@smithsfalls.ca

Cyril Cooper
Manager of Economic Development
613-283-4124, ext. 1107
Ccooper@smithsfalls.ca

Cindy James
Manager of Small Business Advisory Centre
613-283-7002, ext. 108
cjames@smallbizcentre.ca

Emily Morrison
Administration Assistant - Local Immigration Partnership
613-283-4124, ext. 1150
emorrison@smithsfalls.ca

Kara Turner
Project Coordinator - Local Immigration Partnership
613-283-4124, ext. 1151
kturner@smithsfalls.ca

Fire Department

The Smiths Falls Fire Department provides realistic and effective fire protection and public safety services to the Town of Smiths Falls and two other neighbouring townships.

The fire department operates from one fire station located strategically in the centre of the town. It is equipped with a full complement of modern, up-to-date vehicles and equipment.

The Smiths Falls Fire Department consists of one full time chief, one full time Fire Prevention Officer, five full time firefighters and 18 paid-on-call volunteers.
The fire department responds to all types of emergencies, including fire alarms, structural, vehicle and chimney fires, medical assist, ice and water rescue, hazardous material incidents and motor vehicle accidents.

Other very important functions of the fire services department is fire prevention, inspection and public education programs. This involves the inspection of all types of public and private buildings and structures to ensure compliance with fire code regulations and assist with fire drills and fire safety training.

The Smiths Falls Fire Department also operates the fire dispatch centre, which handles 9-1-1 and other emergency calls for all fire departments within Lanark County with the exception of the Town of Perth.

Address: 77 Beckwith St. North, Smiths Falls, Ontario K7A 2B8
Fax: 613-283-4764

For information on the Fire Marshal’s office please visit this website http://www.ofm.gov.on.ca/en/default.asp

Contacts:

Non-emergency Contact

613-283-5869
fire@smithsfalls.ca

Chief Normand Beauchamp
Fire Chief
613-283-4124, ext. 1
nbeauchamp@smithsfalls.ca

Randy Normandin
Lieutenant - Fire Prevention
613-283-5869, ext. 2
rnormandin@smithsfalls.ca

Jason Smith
Lieutenant - Logistics
613-283-5869, ext. 3
jsmith@smithsfalls.ca

Dave Crawford
Technical Services Coordinator
613-283-5869, ext. 4
dcrawford@smithsfalls.ca

Allan Pilon
Career Fire Fighter
613-283-5869
apilon@smithsfalls.ca